Skip to main content

Vista Irrigation Disrict Board elects Officers for 2019 (January 10, 2019)

The Vista Irrigation District (VID) board of directors elected Jo MacKenzie as its president and Richard Vasquez as its vice-president for 2019 at its annual organizational meeting. 

MacKenzie has served on the board of directors since December 1992.  This will be the eighth time she has led the board since being elected.  MacKenzie represents division 5, which includes northeast and southeast Vista, north Twin Oaks Valley and the Bennett area in the city of San Marcos.

MacKenzie is a land use planner and has been active in the Vista and San Marcos communities for many years.  She has served as the chairperson of the district’s fiscal policy, public affairs, Warner Ranch and water sustainability committees.  MacKenzie has also been actively involved with the Association of California Water Agencies; with the California Special Districts Association, previously serving as the statewide association’s president; with the San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission, serving as the commission’s chairperson; and with the Special District Leadership Foundation, serving as its treasurer.

Vásquez, who has eighteen years of service on the VID board, represents division 2 which encompasses the area north of West Vista Way and west of North Santa Fe Avenue in Vista.  He was a member of the board of directors of the former Bueno Colorado Municipal Water District from 1986 to 1992.

Vásquez, a retired civil engineering designer, has served as the chair of the district’s public affairs, fiscal policy and water sustainability committees.  He has also been actively involved with the Association of California Water Agencies, currently serving on its region 10 board of directors.

Download News Release