Skip to main content

Vista Irrigation District Announces Student Contest Winners (May 22, 2020)

Vista Irrigation District has awarded college scholarships to six high school seniors from the local community as winners of the annual district‑sponsored scholarship contest. The district’s board of directors selected the recipients at its May 21, 2020 board meeting.

Briseida Garcia from Mission Vista High School; Leianna Hill from Warner Springs High School; Kira Koch from Mission Vista High School; Madelyne Millard from Rancho Buena Vista High School; Hayden Nightingale from Vista High School; and Shaelynn Solio from Mission Vista High School will each receive a $1,000 award as winners in the district’s 2020 scholarship contest.

The purpose of the scholarship contest, which is open to high school seniors living or attending school within the district’s service area, is to increase the knowledge and awareness of water related issues impacting Vista Irrigation District.  The district received 15 applications this year.

Vista Irrigation District is a public agency governed by an elected five-member board.  The district provides water service to more than 136,000 people in the city of Vista, and portions of San Marcos, Escondido, Oceanside, and unincorporated areas of the county of San Diego.

 Download News Release